Snow fun off the slopes
Not everyone likes the hustle and bustle on the slopes. That doesn’t matter, because apart from that there’s so much to experience. By this we mean quiet winter sports classics such as cross-country skiing, ski touring and snowshoeing as well as sledging, ice skating and curling, romantic winter hikes and horse sleigh rides, but also more exotic adventures such as fatbiking in the snow or dog sledding. Much of this is possible right on the doorstep. Just let us inspire you. On site you will get all the information and all the support you need.
Discover winter sports

Cross-country skiing

In the Sankt Johann im Pongau region there are around 60 varied cross-country trails. including highlights such as the high-altitude trail on the Obergaßalm, where you are on the way at 1,600 m above sea level with a view of the peaks of the Pongau mountains. The 50 km long Tauern trail is also worth a visit. It leads in easily manageable sections through the eight ski amadé resorts of St. Johann-Alpendorf, Flachau, Wagrain, Radstadt, Altenmarkt-Zauchensee, Kleinarl, Eben, Filzmoos and Untertauern. A great opportunity to combine sightseeing with sport. In addition, you can enter three perfectly groomed trails directly from St. Johann. A total of 220 km of continuous cross-country trails awaits you.

Skitouring

In the St. Johann im Pongau region you have the choice between 167 varied ski tours. Many of them start in the neighbouring Grossarltal – the “Valley of Alms”. But also from the Alpendorf there are rewarding challenges. To warm up we recommend the Hahnbaum route right outside the front door. Equipment is available in the hotel’s own village rental. If you want something special like moonlight tours with hut fun, you just have to ask at the reception or interview our Hansi. There is a lot to experience!

Winter-& snowshoe hiking
With or without snowshoes, the Alpendorf St. Johann and its surroundings are a paradise for hiking enthusiasts of all ages and abilities and the Oberforsthof is a good starting point. Snowshoes, hiking poles and sledges are usually available free of charge in the in-house village rental. Guided tours can be arranged at any time. Just ask at the reception!
Tours
Sledging

In the region there are a total of 17 easy and medium-difficult sledge runs to offer. Among them are also tracks, where you can climb with the lift and enjoy several downhill of a special kind. The sledges can be rented in the village for a fee. For warm-up we recommend our “house routes”: the natural  sledge run at Hahnbaum and in the Alpendorf.

sledge run Hahnbaum
Ice skating
Yes, ice skating is also possible with us. In the middle of Sankt Johann, not far from the Oberforsthof. There is an open-air figure skating rink, which is open from mid-December to mid-January from 1. 30 pm to 4 pm even in mild temperatures. Shoes can be rented on site.
more Info
Horse-drawn carriage ride
The Pongau winter landscape is best enjoyed on the 2-hour carriage ride high above St. Johann. Cuddled in blankets, you will be pampered with fairy tales, mulled wine and punch during the ride.
Info & prices

Wintersport by design our 7 wonderful tours off the slopes

With our 7 “Wonder Tours” you can experience the fascination of “Winter Wonderland” intensively and away from the hustle and bustle. All tours are designed as a self-experience trip, suitable for all skill levels and completely pre-organized optionally also with the matching snack.

Snowshoe hike to the Lackenalm in Flachau
This snowshoe hike leads through the forest and over meadows into the Lackenalm area. There you can enjoy the pleasant tranquility and beautiful views.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Duration: 2:30 h
Starting point: „Weg der guten Wünsche“ Summer path no. 32 Berggasthof Sattelbauer ascent to the Sattelbauer possible with your own car (possibly snow track), if you take a taxi to the Sattelbauer , you can rent a toboggan there and run on the 3km long toboggan run into the valley.
Ice skating at Lake Zell
As soon as the temperatures allow, a metre-thick layer of ice forms on Lake Zell. This is swept to high gloss and polished to provide a perfect ice surface and carefully tested to ensure safety.
  • Travel time to Zell am See: 40 minutes
Tobogganing from the Loosbühelalm in Großarl

You have the opportunity to walk or with snowshoes along the marked snowshoe hiking trail (suitable for beginners) to the Loosbühelalm.
You go downhill with the toboggan (sledge rental at the hut).

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Altitude: 560 m
  • Duration: 1:30 h (ascent)
  • Starting point: Grundlehen parking lot, Grossarl 68, 5611 Grossarl (approx. 6 km from the centre of Grossarl in the Ellmautal)
Educational trail to Hochkeil in Mühlbach
From the Arthurhaus near the Mahdlift (1,511 m), the well-signposted nature trail with its nine stations and display boards begins. The trail to the top of the Hochkeil is well prepared and clearly visible.
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Altitude: 280 m
  • Duration: 1 h
  • Distance: 4.5 km
  • Starting point: parking lot Arthurhaus, Mühlbach 110, 5505 Mühlbach
Forest bathing around Lake Jägersee in Kleinarl
Stop in the forest unintentionally and let the healing effect of this place of power act on you with all your senses. Around Lake Jägersee you can take a walk in the woods. The impressive nature, the combination of lake, mountains and forest invites you to indulge in. Try it!
Pure hiking tour in Goldeggweng

The hike to the Meislsteinkapelle is not only a hit in summer. Short but intense: In about two hours you hike from the farm Vorderploin in Goldegg along the road and then over forest and forest paths to the hiking trail in the direction of Meislsteinkapelle. Depending on the snow conditions, this route may present smaller challenges. The reward at the finish is the view of the Hochkönig.

  • Difficulty: medium
  • Duration: 2 h
  • Starting point: ARCHE Hof Vorderploin, Weng 15, 5622 Goldeggweng
Salzburg city-trip on foot

Park at the Hypogarage (University of Salzburg) and walk along the footpath to the old town. Take the path to Nonnberg Abbey, then the alley “Hoher Weg” to the Stieglkeller and look at the beautiful city of Salzburg from above. Then continue into Festungsgasse, past the St. Peter’s Abbey Bakery to Kapitelplatz. Continue to Domplatz, Residenzplatz. through the Goldgasse
and Getreidegasse. You walk back in the direction of the Brothers of Mercy, then back to the Unipark Nonntal.

03.12 - 26.12.2023

Private: Ski. Mountains. Advent.

from 335,– per person

Enjoy the most beautiful time of the year with us.

  • from 2 nights
  • / Oberforsthf cuisine (half board)
  • / € 30,- spa voucher.
 

Details show Details hide
request book now
Skifahrer in Ski amadé

07.01.2024 – 10.02.24

Private: All you can ski

from 505,– per person

Treat yourself to a few eventful winter sports days in the snowy season and enjoy plenty of free space in the mountains:
  • from 3 nights
  • / Oberforsthof cuisine (half board)
  • / Ski in and out
  • / in-house ski school & ski rental
   

Details show Details hide
request book now
Gschmückter Christbaum in der Lobby des Hotel Oberforshtofs

22.12.2023 – 26.12.23

Private: Christmas Bliss

from 642,– per person

Atmospheric Advent adventures, numerous Advent markets and exercise in the fresh air. We offer you a break from the pre-Christmas hustle and bustle.

  • From 3 nights
  • / Oberforsthof cuisine (half board)
  • / €30,- spa voucher
 

Details show Details hide
request book now

Preise & Buchen
Schneespaß abseits der Piste

Nicht jeder mag den Trubel auf der Piste. Das macht gar nichts, denn abseits davon gibt‘s nochmal so viel zu erleben. Damit meinen wir stille Wintersport-Klassiker wie Langlaufen, Skitouring und Schneeschuhwandern genauso wie Rodeln, Eislaufen und Eisstockschießen, romantische Winterwanderungen und Pferdeschlittenfahrten, aber auch exotischere Abenteuer wie Fatbiking im Schnee oder auch Schlittenhundefahren. Vieles davon ist direkt vor der Haustür möglich. Lasst euch einfach von uns inspirieren. Vor Ort bekommt ihr alle Infos und alle Unterstützung, die ihr braucht.

Wintersport entdecken

Langlaufen

In der Region Sankt Johann im Pongau gibt’s rund 60 abwechslungsreiche Langlauf-Loipen. darunter Highlights wie die Höhenloipe auf der Obergaßalm, wo ihr auf 1.600 m Seehöhe mit Blick auf die Gipfel der Pongauer Bergwelt unterwegs seid. Auch die 50 km lange Tauernloipe ist einen Besuch wert. Sie führt in gut bewältigbaren Teilabschnitten durch die acht Ski amadé-Orte St. Johann-Alpendorf, Flachau, Wagrain, Radstadt, Altenmarkt-Zauchensee, Kleinarl, Eben, Filzmoos und Untertauern. Eine großartige Gelegenheit Sightseeing mit Sport zu verbinden. Zudem könnt ihr direkt von St. Johann aus in drei bestens präparierte Loipen einsteigen. Insgesamt wartet ein 220 km großes, zusammenhängendes Loipennetz auf euch.

Skitouring

In der Region St. Johann im Pongau habt ihr die Wahl zwischen 167 abwechslungsreichen Skitouren. Viele von Ihnen beginnen im benachbarten Großarltal – dem „Tal der Almen“. Aber auch vom Alpendorf aus bieten sich lohnende Herausforderungen. Zum Warmlaufen empfehlen wir die Hahnbaum-Route direkt vor der Haustür. Equipment gibt’s bei uns im hoteleigenen Dorfverleih. Wer sich etwas Besonderes wie Mondschein-Touren mit Hüttengaudi wünscht, der braucht nur an der Rezeption nachfragen oder unseren Hansi interviewen. Es gibt eine Menge zu erleben!

Winter- & Schneeschuhwandern

Ob mit oder ohne Schneeschuhe, das Alpendorf St. Johann und Umgebung sind ein Paradies für Wanderfreunde aller Alters- und Leistungsstufen – und der Oberforsthof ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt. Schneeschuhe, Wanderstöcke und Schlitten stehen euch zumeist kostenfrei im hauseigenen Dorfverleih zur Verfügung. Geführte Touren können wir jederzeit organisieren. Fragt einfach an der Rezeption!

Touren
Rodeln

In der Region gibt es insgesamt 17 leichte und mittelschwere Rodelstrecken zu bieten. Darunter sind auch Bahnen, wo ihr mit dem Lift aufsteigen und mehrfach einen Downhill der besonderen Art genießen könnt. Den Leihschlitten gibt’s im Dorfverleih gegen Gebühr. Zum Warmlaufen empfehlen wir unsere „Hausstrecken“: Die Naturrodelbahn am Hahnbaum und im Alpendorf.

Rodelbahn Hahnbaum
Eislaufen

Ja, auch Schlittschuhlaufen oder besser Ice Skating ist bei uns möglich. Und zwar mitten in Sankt Johann, also nicht weit vom Oberforsthof. Dort gibt es einen open air-Kunsteislaufplatz, der von Mitte Dezember bis Mitte Januar von 13.30 bis 16 Uhr geöffnet ist – auch bei milden Temperaturen. Schuhe können vor Ort geliehen werden.

weitere Infos
Pferdekutschenfahrt

Die Pongauer Winterlandschaft genießt ihr am bequemsten bei der 2-stündigen Kutschenfahrt hoch über St. Johann. Eingekuschelt in Decken werdet ihr während der Fahrt mit märchenhaften Geschichten, Glühwein und Punsch verwöhnt.

Infos & Preise

Wintersport by design – unsere 7 Wundertouren abseits der Piste

Mit unseren 7 „Wundertouren“ könnt ihr die Faszination „Winter Wonderland“ ganz intensiv und abseits des Trubels erleben. Alle Touren sind als Selbsterfahrungs-Trip konzipiert, für alle Könnensstufen geeignet und komplett vororganisiert – optional auch mit der passenden Jause dazu.

Schneeschuh-Wanderung zu den Lackenalmen in Flachau

Diese Schneeschuhwanderung führt durch den Wald und über Wiesen in das Lackenalmgebiet. Dort kann man die angenehme Ruhe und wunderschöne Aussicht genießen.

  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Dauer: 2:30 h

Ausgangspunkt: „Weg der guten Wünsche“ Sommerweg Nr. 32 Berggasthof Sattelbauer – Auffahrt zum Sattelbauer mit dem eigenen Auto möglich (möglicherweise Schneefahrbahn), wenn Sie ein Taxi zum Sattelbauer nehmen, können Sie dort eine Rodel ausleihen und auf der 3km langen Rodelstrecke ins Tal sausen.

Eislaufen am Zeller See

Sobald es die Temperaturen zulassen bildet sich auf dem Zeller See eine meterdicke Eisschicht. Diese wird auf Hochglanz gekehrt und poliert um eine perfekte Eisfläche zu bieten und sorgfältig geprüft um die Sicherheit zu gewährleisten.

  • Fahrzeit nach Zell am See: 40 Minuten
Rodeln von der Loosbühelalm in Großarl

Ihr habt die Möglichkeit zu Fuß oder mit Schneeschuhen entlang des markierten Schneeschuhwanderweges (für Anfänger geeignet) zur Loosbühelalm zu gelangen.
Bergab geht‘s mit der Rodel (Rodelverleih bei der Hütte).

  • Schwierigkeit: leicht
  • Höhenmeter: 560 hm
  • Dauer: 1:30 h (Aufstieg)
  • Ausgangspunkt: Parkplatz Grundlehen, Großarl 68, 5611 Großarl (ca. 6 km von der Ortsmitte Großarl im Ellmautal)
Tourenlehrpfad zum Hochkeil in Mühlbach

Vom Arthurhaus in der Nähe des Mahdlifts (1.511 m) beginnt der gut ausgeschilderte Lehrpfad mit seinen neun Stationen und Schautafeln. Die Spur auf den Gipfel des Hochkeils ist gut präpariert und klar sichtbar.

  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Höhenmeter: 280 hm
  • Dauer: 1 h
  • Strecke: 4,5 km
  • Ausgangspunkt: Parkplatz Arthurhaus, Mühlbach 110, 5505 Mühlbach
Waldbaden rund um den Jägersee in Kleinarl

Haltet euch einmal ganz absichtslos im Wald auf und lasst die heilende Wirkung dieses Kraftplatzes mit allen Sinnen auf euch wirken. Rund um den Jägersee bietet sich ein Waldbade-Spaziergang an. Die eindrucksvolle Natur, die Kombination aus See, Berge und Wald lädt ein zum Innegehen. Versucht es mal!

Wandertour pur in Goldeggweng

Die Wanderung zur Meislsteinkapelle ist nicht nur im Sommer ein Hit. Kurz aber intensiv: In ca. zwei Stunden wandert ihr bei moderater Steigung vom Bauernhof Vorderploin in Goldegg entlang der Straße und dann über Forst und Waldwege zum Wanderweg in Richtung Meislsteinkapelle. Je nach Schneelage kann diese Route kleinere Herausforderungen mit sich bringen. Die Belohnung am Ziel ist die Aussicht auf das Hochkönigmassiv.

  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Dauer: 2 h
  • Ausgangspunkt: ARCHE Hof Vorderploin, Weng 15, 5622 Goldeggweng
Salzburg Städte-Trip zu Fuß

Parkt bei der Hypogarage (Uni Salzburg) und spaziert entlang des Fußweges in die Altstadt. Nehmt den Weg zum Stift Nonnberg, danach die Gasse „Hoher Weg“ bis zum Stieglkeller und betrachtet die wunderschöne Stadt Salzburg von oben. Danach geht’s weiter in die Festungsgasse, vorbei an der Stiftsbäckerei St. Peter bis zum Kapitelplatz. Weiter zum Domplatz, Residenzplatz, durch die Goldgasse
und Getreidegasse. Retour spaziert ihr Richtung Barmherzige Brüder, danach retour zum Unipark Nonntal.

10.12.2023 - 22.12.2023

Privat: 4=3 Advent Special

ab 510,– pro Person

Es weihnachtet im Alpendorf - mit unserem 4=3 Advent Special.

  • 3 + 1 Nacht gratis
  • / Oberforsthof - Kulinarik (Halbpension)
  • / Anreise Sonntag oder Montag
  • / € 30,- Beautygutschein 
  • / kostenloser Shuttle zu den umliegenden Adventmärkten
  • / Lichtadvent St. Johann
  • / Bergadvent Großarl
 

Details anzeigen Details ausblenden
Anfragen Buchen

03.12 - 26.12.2023

Privat: Ski. Berge. Advent.

ab 335,– pro Person

Genießt mit uns gemeinsam die wohl schönste Zeit im Jahr.

  • ab 2 Nächten
  • / Oberforsthof - Kulinarik (Halbpension)
  • / € 30,- Spa-Voucher
 

Details anzeigen Details ausblenden
Anfragen Buchen
Skifahrer in Ski amadé

07.01.2024 – 10.02.2024

All you can ski

ab 505,– pro Person

Gönnt euch ein paar erlebnisreiche Wintersport-Tage in der schneereichen Zeit und genießt jede Menge Freiraum in den Bergen:
  • ab 3 Nächte
  • / Oberforsthof - Kulinarik (Halbpension)
  • / Ski in und out
  • / Hauseigene Skischule & Skiverleih
 

Details anzeigen Details ausblenden
Anfragen Buchen